Bong Joon Ho’s Next Film Adds Mark Ruffalo, Naomi Ackie, and Toni Collette

bong joon ho film

Naomi Ackie (Star Wars), Toni Collette (Hereditary), and Mark Ruffalo (Avengers) are set to join Robert Pattinson in the follow-up to the director’s Oscar-winning Parasite. Per Deadline, deals for Collette and Ruffalo are reportedly in the final stages. The still-untitled film is said to be based on the novel Mickey7 by Edward Ashton.

Bong is set to write, direct and produce the film for his production company Offscreen. Mickey7 was first published by St. Martins, an imprint of Macmillan, earlier this year. It tells the story of Mickey7, a character described as an “Expendable” – a disposable employee on a human expedition sent to colonize the ice world Niflheim.

Mickey is a body the crew uses for dangerous missions; after each death, a new body is regenerated that keeps most of the prior body’s memories intact. This causes problems when Mickey7 is regenerated and comes to comprehend his job. Although the film will take inspiration from its source material, it’s thought Bong’s vision might see the movie differ from the book.

Details surrounding which characters the actors will be playing are unknown at this time.

Ackie can next be seen in the Whitney Houston biopic, I Wanna Dance with Somebody, while Collette is coming off the HBO Max limited series The Staircase. Up next for Ruffalo, of course, is She-Hulk: Attorney at Law for Disney+ and Marvel Studios.

As of now, Bong’s latest does not have a release date.

Source: Deadline

Previous Post
love death robots 3 review

REVIEW: ‘Love, Death & Robots’ Volume 3 Has Some of the Anthology’s Best

Next Post
everything everywhere all at once

‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ to Become A24’s Highest-Grossing Film Ever

Related Posts